Phoenix Poets

Series Logo
Randolph Petilos, Acquiring Editor
Phoenix Poets was founded in 1982 by Robert von Hallberg and the Press, and began in 1983 to publish books by individual American and British poets. After the initial years, culminating with Donald Davie’s Collected Poems (1990), the series shifted its focus to American poets. Phoenix Poets continues to publish books distinguished by keen awareness of the history and possibilities of poetry. Quality of feeling underscored by quality of thought, the mind in motion, the eye and ear attentive, formal ingenuity in the service of important subjects—these are some of the qualities that the series embodies as we look to publish the best books of poetry being written, regardless of fashion.Books in the series have repeatedly won major prizes, including the National Book Critics Circle Award, the William Carlos Williams Award, the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, the Kingsley and Kate Tufts Awards, the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry, the Rome Prize in Literature, the Massachusetts Book Award, the Levis Reading Prize, the Rilke Prize, the John C. Zacharis First Book Award, and the National Book Award.

The Phoenix Poets series is edited by an anonymous board of editors and coordinated at the Press by managing editor Randolph Petilos. The series is closed to unsolicited submissions.

“For the past several years, the University of Chicago has been publishing some of the finest books by the younger American poets. No other press, in New York or anywhere, is doing any better. In fact, I can’t think of one that’s done as well.” Philip Levine

“In my opinion, the Phoenix Poets list is second to none.” Richard Wilbur

“Some of my favorite poets are published in Phoenix Poets.” Thom Gunn

Chicago Manual of Style |

Free E-book Of The Month

Black Patriots and Loyalists

Alan Gilbert

Black Patriots and Loyalists

Fighting for Emancipation in the War for Independence

Get it for free!

About E-books