The Necessary Dream

A Study of the Novels of Manuel Puig

Pamela Bacarisse

Pamela Bacarisse

Distributed for University of Wales Press

285 pages | 5 1/2 x 8 3/4 | © 1988
Cloth $75.00 ISBN: 9780708310113 Published November 1988 For sale in North and South America, Australia, and New Zealand only

Manuel Puig is one of the great talents of the so-called 'Post-Boom' in Latin-American literature. Well known for his Kiss of the Spider Woman (El beso de la mujer araña), Puig has achieved success with his novels and plays both in academic circles and with the general public. This is the first book in English to present an interpretation of all seven of his novels. Each novel is discussed in a separate chapter and the homogeneity behind the varying formats is analysed to indicate common themes and attitudes, with recourse to fields such as psychology, feminism, Argentine politics, myth, Camp and popular culture.

The book is aimed at students and teachers of Latin-American literature. All quotations are given in Spanish with an English translation.

1. Introduction
2. "La Vie est ailleurs": La traición de Rita Hayworth (1968)
3. "The Rules of the Game": Boquitas pintadas (1969)
4. "The Divided Self": The Buenos Aires Affair (1973)
5. "The Kiss of Death": El beso de la mujer araña (1976)
6. "Only Make-Believe": Pubis angelical (1979)
7. "Les Liaisons dangereuses": Maldición eterna a quien lea estas páginas (1980)
8. "Life's a Dream": Sangre de amor correspondido (1982)
For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from University of Wales Press. RSS Feed