John Mcgrath - Plays For England

John McGrath

John Mcgrath - Plays For England

John McGrath

Distributed for University of Exeter Press

320 pages | 12 illustrations | 9-1/10 x 6-1/10
Paper $23.00 ISBN: 9780859897181 Published April 2005 For sale in North and South America, Australia, and New Zealand only
This is an edition of nine of McGrath's plays for the English 7:84 theatre company. It covers McGrath's work for the company spanning four decades, from the 1960s through to the 1990s.
The book has a substantial contextualising introduction and commentary on the plays by Nadine Holdsworth, one of the leading specialists in the work of John McGrath. This is set alongside supporting documents such as programme notes, reviews, letters etc.
The plays and theatre work of John McGrath are studied in many theatre departments, but they have not been available to the average reader. The English plays constitute a powerful influence on the theatre in general and are included in all theatre histories of the period; this collection should make them available to students, audiences and the public at large with an interest in theatre and in the social issues of their periods.
Includes the following plays:

Tell Me, Tell Me
Take It
They've Got Out


Plugged Into History
Trees in the Wind
Fish in the Sea
Lay Off




Watching For Dolphins
For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from University of Exeter Press. RSS Feed