Brian Ferneyhough

Lois Fitch

Lois Fitch

Distributed for Intellect Ltd

160 pages | 2 color plates | 7 x 9
Paper $28.50 ISBN: 9781783200184 Published January 2014
One of contemporary music’s most significant and controversial figures, Brian Ferneyhough’s complex and challenging music draws inspiration from painting, literature, and philosophy, as well as music from the recent and distant past. His dense, multilayered compositions intrigue musicians while pushing both performer and instrument to the limits of their abilities. A wide-ranging survey of his life and work to date, Brian Ferneyhough examines the critical issues fundamental to understanding the composer as a musician and a thinker. Debuting in celebration of Ferneyhough’s seventieth birthday in 2013, this book strikes a rich balance between critical analysis of the music and close scrutiny of its aesthetic and philosophical contexts, making possible a more rounded view of the composer than has been available.
"This is a book of enormous value, plentifully and always usefully illustrated with music examples . . . and with a charming small portfolio of photographs."


Score Copyright Permissions for Musical Examples

List of Images

Editorial Note


1. Biography: Brian John Peter Ferneyhough (born January 16, 1943)

2. Notation

3. The Solo Works. ‘Black Scherzo’

4. Chamber ‘Concertos’

5. Chamber Music

6. String Quartet

7. Time and Motion Study Cycle

8. Carceri d’Invenzione: Style and Innovation

9. Shadowtime

10. Works for Orchestra and Large Ensemble

11. Aesthetics





For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from Intellect Ltd. RSS Feed