The Apollonian Clockwork

On Stravinsky

Louis Andriessen and Elmer Schonberger

The Apollonian Clockwork
Bookmark and Share

Louis Andriessen and Elmer Schonberger

Distributed for Amsterdam University Press

314 pages | 5-3/4 x 8-1/4
Paper $65.95 ISBN: 9789053568569 Published December 2006 For sale only in the United States, its dependencies, the Philippines, and Canada
‘I think my music deserves to be considered as a whole’, Igor Stravinsky remarked at the end of a long and restless career, and that is exactly what the authors of The Apollonian Clockwork do. In 1982, convinced that there is no essential difference between ‘early’ and ‘late’ Stravinsky, Louis Andriessen and Elmer Schönberger were the first to write a monograph on the composer which radically breaks with the habit of dividing his works into ‘Russian’, ‘neoclassical’ and ‘serial’. In an essay which continually shifts in its approach, style and perspective, the authors elaborate on their insight that a single, immutable compositional attitude underlies the whole of Stravinsky’s oeuvre. By this token the book not only offers an analysis of the composer’s protean work and artistry but takes example by it as well.
For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

RSS Feed

RSS feed of the latest books from Amsterdam University Press. RSS Feed