Three American Architects

Richardson, Sullivan, and Wright, 1865-1915

James F. O'Gorman

Three American Architects
Bookmark and Share

James F. O'Gorman

190 pages | 105 halftones, frontispiece | 6 x 9 | © 1991
Paper $25.00 ISBN: 9780226620725 Published September 1992
O'Gorman discusses the individual and collective achievement of the recognized trinity of American architecture: Henry Hobson Richardson (1838-86), Louis Sullivan (1856-1924), and Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959). He traces the evolution of forms created during these architects' careers, emphasizing the interrelationships among them and focusing on the designs and executed buildings that demonstrate those interrelationships. O'Gorman also shows how each envisioned the building types demanded by the growth of nineteenth-century cities and suburbs—the downtown skyscraper and the single-family home.

[A] brilliant analysis . . . a major contribution to our understanding of the beginnings of modern American architecture."—David Hamilton Eddy, Times Higher Education Supplement.
For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

Keep Informed