Cloth $75.00 ISBN: 9780226493404 Published March 1995
Paper $29.00 ISBN: 9780226493411 Published March 1995

Sardinian Chronicles

Bernard Lortat-Jacob

Sardinian Chronicles
Bookmark and Share

Bernard Lortat-Jacob

Translated by Teresa Lavender Fagan
128 pages | 12 halftones, 1 compact disc | 5-1/2 x 8-1/2 | © 1995
Cloth $75.00 ISBN: 9780226493404 Published March 1995
Paper $29.00 ISBN: 9780226493411 Published March 1995
In Sardinian Chronicles Bernard Lortat-Jacob poetically evokes Sardinian music through a series of encounters with individual musicians and their families. Refusing to separate the music from the world in which it arises, Lortat-Jacob offers twelve vignettes focused on individuals such as Cocco, a chicken farmer who deciphers the shapes of his fowl and the layout of his henhouses in the constellations of a summer sky, and Pietro, a sleep-walking postman who divides his time between mail deliveries and impromptu serenades. These vignettes bring to life an art still very much alive: the music of villages with an oral tradition, sung or played in the company of others.

Through his sensitive portraits of music makers and their families, Lortat-Jacob overcomes some of the epistemological and methodological dilemmas facing his field today, while also giving the general reader a sense of the multiple and idiosyncratic ways that music is involved in everyday life. With a foreword by Michel Leiris and a compact disc containing samples of the music being discussed, this book constitutes a breakthrough in ethnomusicology that will also interest many in Mediterranean studies and European anthropology.
The Ferry
Santu Lussurgiu
Other Works by Bernard Lortat-Jacob
Contents of the Compact Disk
For more information, or to order this book, please visit
Google preview here

Chicago Manual of Style |

Chicago Blog: History

Events in History

Keep Informed

JOURNALs in History